Pre-Bath

Well here we go, the first blog post. In a week, I will be on my way to Bath, England. To be perfectly frank, I’m a little scared. I have spent a lot of time out of the country, I’ve traveled to Paris a couple times to visit family, spent three weeks in Tanzania the summer before I started college, and went on a service program to Nicaragua the summer after my junior year of high school. So really, I probably shouldn’t be too worried, I’ve gone through customs, adjusting to large time differences, and being in countries other than my own. However, I’ve pretty much always gone with family (except the service trip, which was a school trip), and always adult family, so I didn’t have to worry as much about being as responsible for everything myself, but now I’m going on a trip where I basically know no one else. There are two other Oberlin students on this program, but I don’t really know either of them that well.

I am a little anxious about meeting and getting to know people, as I have a tendency to become more quiet when I meet new people, so I’m making it one of my goals to get to know people and try to put myself out there more. One of my other goals, since I will be working at an arts organization, is to find what is different between working in an arts organization in the UK versus in the US, including what is done better in the UK than can be applied to the organizations I work with in the US. I also want to try and take advantage of the opportunity to travel, especially since I have family in Paris, who I’m guessing would be happy to have me visit. As well, since I am doing a project about the role of music in the community, I want to try and get involved in things going on with the community of Bath. After all, part of studying abroad is trying to get to know a culture different than my own.

That’s mostly it at the moment. I’m basically prepared to leave, I have my visa for my internship, plug adapters, and a travel journal that was a gift from a friend. Talk to you once I’m in Bath!

 

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

Leave a Reply

