Bath gives you what you are willing to walk for

I’ve done a lot in the past two days, so I’m splitting each into it’s own post, here is yesterday.

Yesterday was a pretty open day in terms of the things that were scheduled. Two students from Bath Spa University, which is very close by, showed us around the markets that are open on the weekends. My favorite by far was the farmers market (see not-so-great photo below). Everyone there was incredibly kind and sweet, and many people were offering free samples of their food, which I am never opposed to, I tried a lot of good bread and cheese and pastries. My roommate, Rowan, and I decided to split buying some really quality sharp cheddar and sourdough bread, so she bought the cheese and I bought the bread, which so far has been a really good decision, it’s delicious.IMG_6119.JPG

We finished there around 1, which was relatively early, and had nothing else going on the rest of the day, so myself and two housemates, Caroline and SJ, decided to do some of the more tourist-y stuff, especially since it was pretty much the first day where it didn’t rain and there was actual sun and fluffy clouds, and all of that good weather stuff. You may have noticed that I changed the header photo of the blog, which is now a panorama that I took of the Royal Crescent (if you’re reading this later and I’ve changed it again, it’s on the photos page), which is honestly really beautiful, and there’s tons of lawn in front of it that would be a perfect for doing reading or studying. We then walked over to Victoria Park, which is about the same in terms of being absolutely beautiful and a great place to read. There was also some quality people and dog watching opportunities. Victoria Park also had what was called a “lake” (see photo below), but was really more of a duck pond. A very beautiful duck pond, but definitely much more of a pond than what I usually think of as a lake.IMG_6129.JPG

We then walked over to have lunch at a place called Cafe Lucca, which was incredibly delicious. It wasn’t as much of what you would expect from a typical cafe, it was more of a restaurant. As in, you wait and sit down at a table and get a menu and a waiter comes and all of that typical restaurant stuff. It’s still got a really good vibe, and I think would be a great place to have brunch, and if my parents visit, I would definitely suggest it. As a vegetarian, I do have slightly more limited options than most of my peers, but I am pretty sure that I will be able to count on there being a caprese (basil/pesto, mozzarella, tomato) sandwich/panini available at whatever cafe-type place I am at. And indeed, I did have a caprese panini at Cafe Lucca (see photo below). It was absolutely incredible, the perfect amount of mozzarella, the tomato wasn’t cut too thickly, the pesto worked really well, and the bread with just the right amount of crunchy on the outside, but soft on the inside. I will probably be comparing caprese sandwiches as I eat them, this being the second one. The first I had at a place called Dolce, which was a solidly mediocre sandwich. It was fine, it worked for lunch, but wasn’t really something I would go back for. They also use basil leaves rather than pesto, and I generally prefer pesto, but it was fine. I also had bumbleberry juice along with my sandwich at Cafe Lucca, going in having no idea what it was. Turned out it tastes like a blueberry raspberry sorbet that’s been made into a juice, which was great. We were also seated by the dessert counter (see additional photos page), so we had to get desserts to go because we had spent the entire meal staring at them. They had a great selection of gluten and dairy free desserts, which is awesome. I got a lemon meringue tart because I love anything lemon, and when I ate it later, it was truly delicious. IMG_6138.JPG

After lunch, we walked over to Mr. B’s Emporium of Reading Delights (https://www.mrbsemporium.com/). Mr. B’s has been highly highly recommended to us by multiple staff members, and two other students are interning there. It truly lived up to everything we had been told; it had a really good range of books available for purchase. I walked in intending to not buy a book and walked out with a book (Happy by Derron Brown). They also have a really cute upstairs room, there are three floors, one above and one below the ground floor, that just has a few chairs and is pretty clearly intended to be a little reading nook. We all ended up buying books, and Caroline and I got to chatting with the person who rang us up. He was incredibly nice and actually seemed to have a pretty good idea of things in the US, it was clear that he has been there before. There seem to be a good number of people who have been to the US and want to know if we’re from where they’ve been, there was a police officer we were talking to today who actually had lived about half an hour away from where I’m from in California.

We were pretty exhausted from walking once we got back, so after that, I skyped a friend from Oberlin and showered and made my dinner and lunch for today. We decided to go out last night, with the plan being to go to a cocktail bar and get a few drinks and then to go to a club. Most of my house had tried to do that the night before, but I wasn’t that interested in going, which turned out to be a pretty good because things didn’t exactly as planned for them, which meant that we had a better idea of things like where to go and when. We went to a place called the Canary Gin Bar to get drinks, which played really good music and we were able to get a table, which was nice. Apparently gin bars are the hip new thing, so they’ve been popping up all over the city. The drink I got, called “The Safari” was pretty good, I basically got the one with the most fruit in it. It seemed like people enjoyed the drinks that they got, which was good, I would guess that we will go back there at some point. They left to go to a club after that, which I wasn’t interested in, so another housemate and I walked back to our house and I skyped my boyfriend and generally had a chill evening.

Fun note about the house I’m living in, which is called Prior Park, it has a cat (see photo)! Well, the cat is someone else’s, but she visits pretty regularly, we’ve named her Steve. She especially likes sitting in the kitchen on one of our kitchen chairs.IMG_6140.JPG

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

Leave a Reply

