Why I Work in the Arts

I started my internship on Wednesday. They had a concert on Thursday, and an education project associated with it. On Wednesday, I spent my time in the office cutting 65 strips of bubble wrap that were about 3′ x 6″ as well as restringing some triangles and helping load up the van to bring things over to the venue. On Thursday, at the venue, I spent one and a half hours of my afternoon labeling over 400 chairs with seat numbers, and then after the concert, taking all of those labels off. And today I spent my day at a school, making music with kids in elementary school to make a song about a train that flies in the air with a big fat baby on it, flying above a fluffy white dog that was being chased by a huge butterfly with teeth, kids have such great imaginations.

And I love doing all of it. I love that I am never going to be doing the same thing every day, and that there is such a great outlet to be creative and be involved in creating something. Most of the kids had never heard an orchestra before (they sat in the orchestra on Thursday and got to listen and play with them, I was in class during that), and I love being able to give them that. I have done a lot of work with kids, but I don’t think that I’ve ever seen like 50-60 kids all engaged in doing one thing together at once, like they were when playing the song they had made. And they all “played” the bubble wrap I had cut when they were with the orchestra, as fire sounds to go along with de Falla’s Ritual Fire Dance, which I was told was a big hit.

The music that they played in the concert was also phenomenal. If you’ve never heard Ravel’s Ma Mere l’Oye Ballet (Mother Goose Ballet), I highly recommend it. I got to listen to the dreams of Sleeping Beauty, and listen to the story of Tom Thumb as Sleeping Beauty’s dream, and it really was magical. They also played the Guitar Concerto by Rodrigo, with his great granddaughter in the audience. It’s so cool that even now she gets the opportunity to listen to the things that her great grandfather has written. I think it’s pretty incredible to be able to sit there and listen while people play these things, and I love being part of an organization that can breathe life into a piece and make it into something where there wasn’t something before, whether that is music or theater or film, or whatever your favorite medium is. I think that it’s incredible to be able to be a part of that. And I am so thankful that I get to be part of that in a whole different country and that I am at an organization that has been so welcoming and has given me so many great experiences in just the first three days of me working there.

I am also going to be volunteering with Next Stage Youth Theater starting in March on the production that they are starting then, I don’t actually know what it is yet. I will be seeing their current production of Great Expectations next week, so that will be a good introduction. I’m just so happy and excited that I get to keep working and creating, even in a place where I don’t have any background or knowledge, and don’t even come from the country. It’s just a wonderful feeling.

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

Leave a Reply

