It’s Been a Few Days

Sorry that I’ve been gone for a while, I’ve been both busy and not busy. We’ve continued the week of classes, which are still going well and I’m still really enjoying. As a house, we also went out to dinner on Monday to celebrate Galentine’s Day (as in with the gals) along with my housemate Alexis’s birthday, which was the day before. We went to Las Iguanas, which was actually pretty good Latin American food. My internship has also been going well, since we’re past the concert, I got the usual beginning stuff, like a tour of the building and meeting the people who work there but aren’t Bath Phil staff. I’ve started doing more admin stuff, like I started creating a database of musicians. But I also got to do things like drop the music from the concert off at the post office and then go buy Where the Wild Things Are for someone’s newborn. 

I also went to Jane Austen dancing last night with four of my housemates, we were the only ASE students to go, but it turned out to be really fun. It was a rehearsal of the kinds of dances you see in Jane Austen, with a lot of place changes and things like quadrilles and all that. I have a lot of dance background, but nothing like ballroom or anything like that, but it wasn’t too hard to pick up and I had a blast. The crowd was definitely mostly people who were a good bit older than us, but they were all very welcoming and would whisper what you had to do next and try to help as much as they could. They were all also very friendly and welcoming and asked us where we were from and all that. I’m not sure how often I’ll go back, as I don’t have a vested interested in actually learning those kinds of dances, but it was very fun.

And tonight I went to see Great Expectations put on by Next Stage Youth Theatre, which is the theatre I’ll be volunteering at starting in March. It turned out to be 3 hours long, which was a bit longer than I anticipated. But I really enjoyed myself, the acting was really good and it was a well conceptualized show. It’s also always nice to see British works performed with actual British accents rather than American or mediocre to poor British accents. Tomorrow I’m going to Bristol with my housemates that are not going to be away this weekend, and although I don’t know exactly what we’ll be doing, as Bridget planned it and I did not, I still think it’s going to be really good. 

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

Leave a Reply

