E is for Education in England

I just felt that the title would go in theme with my last post. It probably won’t be a continuous thing.

But anyways, yesterday I was having my weekly meeting with Andrew to talk about how my internship was going, and we got on the topic of education because I spent my Tuesday internship time at the school Bath Phil is doing their next concert with, photocopying music for about three and a half hours. One of the things that I’ve noticed about Bath is that there are a lot of school-age kids who clearly have school uniforms. The school I went to with Bath Phil wore uniforms, the one I was at on Tuesday also did, which is something that I’m not very used to, I went to public school up until college, so I basically have no experience with school uniforms. Andrew is also the mentor for the education students, who instead of an internship, have a placement in a school, where I’m guessing they do student-teachery things. I could ask Emily, my housemate who is one of the education students, but I have no idea where she is right now.

Apparently a huge issue in education in the UK is the private versus [what we call] public schooling, in that in the UK, 7% of students are in private school, but make up 70% of the high-ranking politicians and other high-level professional people, which is clearly not a great ratio. I did some very brief googling (I take this blog very seriously, clearly), and in the US, about 10% of students are in private schools, which is more than I expected. I don’t know what the US equivalent of the other statistic is though, I couldn’t find that in my brief research. I would imagine, though, that there also isn’t an even ratio, although I think that it wouldn’t be as bad. The issue is that it becomes a self-perpetuating loop, in that people who were schooled in private school are more inclined towards other people who were schooled in the same way. Andrew was saying that part of that comes from the very clear different classes in England, whereas we don’t have as much of that kind of thing in the US, although I do acknowledge that there still is some disparity.

For my internship dissertation, I would like to talk to some of the heads of schools for the places that Bath Phil works with, and I think it would be interesting to get their perspective issue of private vs. public school, as well as what kind of schooling they had. There have also been suggestions of private schools sharing resources and things with public schools, but that makes it seem somewhat condescending and like a hand-out, when it’s more meant to be like an equalizer between the two. I am also going to spend the 14th with the Phil, working on setting up the concert and stuff all day, which will also include working with the kids in a school-like setting, so I may have more to say about it after. Basically, this is probably something that I will come back to, so we’ll see as things progress.

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

Leave a Reply

