Colin Milburn? I Didn’t Know Him Either

Last night my drama class went on a study trip to see a show at a local theater called the Rondo. Study trips are a part of all of the classes, although all of them are different, my screenwriting class is going to the Bristol Film Festival on Saturday, so get ready to hear about that. The show we saw was called When the Eye Goes, and was a solo performance about an English cricketer from the 60s named Colin Milburn, who was very skilled and well-loved until he got in a car accident and lost sight in one eye and damaged the other. He passed away at age 48 from a heart attack, which the play made clear was a result from his own eating and drinking habits.

For me, it was really interesting to see because it felt somewhat familiar in that I have worked at a theater that only produces solo performance, so seeing one man performing a whole show, taking on tons of characters, was not something new to me. The actor did a really good job of truly inhibiting each character, they all had clear physicalization and voice, which made it easy to know who each person was, and that was pretty important because the play had 56 different characters. Some of them were just one or two lines, but given that they were all distinct, that’s pretty impressive.

I knew very little about cricket going into the show, we had a brief little lesson on it during class on Monday, and I did a small bit of research into how the game is played. Part of what else was well done about the play was that while it had some references to the game, it was really about the person, and not the game, so you didn’t have to know a lot about cricket in order to enjoy the show. There were some references and jokes that I didn’t understand, but it still was a good show. I want to try and figure out a way to see more theater around, the small interactions I’ve had with it have been good, and I think that it will be interesting to see how different shows are.

This week has been about theater apparently, and I hope you’re not tired of it because I am pretty sure that I will be writing more about it.

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

Leave a Reply

