Quick Post: The British Accent

One of the things about being in a country that speaks the same language means that there is a lot thought about the accent, and I think that both British people and American people try hard to figure out each other’s accent; when I was in the school with the Bath Phil, one kid tried an American accent while we were in small groups, and seeing as he was in elementary school, it wasn’t all that good. To be fair though, I’ve definitely heard a lot of bad British accents from Americans, and I have no idea how good mine is. Hearing the British accent a lot though, I think I realized that some of what makes Americans trying British accents bad is that they try to say words the way British people do, but they use American intonation. I know some of this from doing theatre for so long, and so having to be aware of how I speak, but Americans tend to be lower in pitch in their voice, and tend to end their sentences down, as in dropping off the end of the sentence and lowering their pitch to indicate the end of a sentence. British people, however, do the opposite. They tend to stay a lot higher in their voice, and they don’t drop off the end of their sentences, which can sometimes make it sound like their sentences don’t have ends, or are more continuous. Obviously, this does not apply to every time they speak, but I think as a general rule it’s true. England also has a lot of different accents depending on the region, but I think this holds for the accent that I’ve heard in Bath.

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

4 thoughts on “Quick Post: The British Accent”

Leave a Reply

