Quick Post: Flavors

There are some really interesting flavors in England that we don’t have in America, especially in chip flavors, or crisp flavors if you’re British. One of my personal favorites is cheese and onion, which are two of my favorite foods and one of my favorite food combinations, so I’m pretty happy about that one. There are also a lot more meat-flavored ones than I’ve ever seen, and as a vegetarian, I tend to steer clear of those. For example, in a pub, I came across some roast ox flavored chips, which was not something that I thought I’d ever see. Obviously there is British cuisine, I mean, we don’t think of beans on toast as a great breakfast or snack or what have you, but I think it’s interesting to look at chip flavors as an indicator for the kind of palate that the country has. England is known for their love of meat, and I think it would be fair to say that they demonstrate that through the chip flavors they have. But in the meantime I will just be enjoying the accessibility of the cheese and onion flavor.

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

Leave a Reply

