A Reflection on Oxford

We got back from Oxford on Friday, and I honestly had a good week. I think, however, that one week is the perfect amount of time for us to have spent here. We got to get a feel for the area and we got to do some of the tourist-y stuff, but I think that if we had spent more time there, there are aspects that would have bothered me. For example, I noticed a lot more tourists and people in general in Oxford than we have here in Bath, and so to me it felt a little bit more crowded than I would like. But I still am very glad that we got to spend time there and that I had the time to do all of the museums and stuff, there were a lot of really cool things.

I did get to the Ashmolean Museum (see photo below) on Thursday, but only for about an hour and a half because I had to get to class, but I easily could have spent another hour and a half to two hours there. The museum is very large and there were many galleries that I wasn’t able to get to, such as the main exhibit of Degas to Picasso. I spent a lot of my time in the lower galleries of ancient Egypt and Greece. I’ve put up some of the photos from the Ashmolean up in additional photos, so go check that out if you want.IMG_6767.jpg

The last night of the trip, which was also Thursday, we had a formal dinner in the dining hall at Univ, but it was a full three-course meal with two different wines and all of that jazz. It was really yummy and I had a good time talking to some people I hadn’t gotten to know as well (it was assigned seating). And they did a really good job of accommodating the fact that I was vegetarian and one of the people who I was near has a bunch of allergies and she was still able to eat with everyone. We also had some “entertainment” afterward which consisted of a guy who I believe is affiliated with Univ telling us a very elaborate (made-up) story about a student who went to Univ who wrote music and died having a picnic at Custard’s Last Stand. He then played the “song” that said student had wrote, which actually was a medley of well-known British and American songs. He was very funny and it took a bit for us to realize that he was making it up.

Afterwards, we all went to the Univ bar to hang out, including students and tutors and staff. It was pretty relaxed and I got to watch the staff beat some students at Foosball. Friday was Rachel’s 21st birthday, so we then went to a rooftop bar, and I initially thought it was only going to be a small group of people, but actually most of the students came, as well as one of the tutors and one of the staff. It had a really good view of the city and it was actually pretty fun to kind of all go out together. We sang Rachel “Happy Birthday” at midnight, I’m sure much to the chagrin of the other people who were on the rooftop with us. I didn’t get any drinks there, but I glanced at the menu and they had three different non-alcoholic drinks listed on the menu that looked pretty good, basically combinations of fruit juice, which I thought was pretty cool. I left shortly after midnight, but I think that it was a good end to the week.

I also know that for some people, the photos on the post I made about the museums aren’t showing up, sorry about that, I’m trying to fix it.

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

Leave a Reply

