Bath Phil Concert #3

On Saturday, I helped with the third Bath Phil concert while I’ve been here, this time with the Minerva Choir in Bath Abbey. A lot of my job was preparing, serving, and cleaning up tea and coffee for the musicians, along with erasing bowings from scores for the musicians for the next concert on the 21st, which has been a common theme the last couple of times that I’ve been there. However, the main thing that was different about this concert was the venue, the Abbey, which is a tourist attraction and public space, and therefore open to the public during the time that we were rehearsing. It was actually really cool, because so many people who were just there to see the Abbey came in and sat down and listened, or took photos and videos of the rehearsal. There was one family of a mom, dad, and their two kids who sat down nearby where I was working on erasing, and the mom must have stayed there a good 20 minutes. The kids, too, were surprisingly quiet and attentive. The looks on a lot of people’s faces were generally very joyful and surprised. I think it made it very clear exactly how much having access to music and the arts adds to a town, and how much is added just by having these kinds of organizations. And not just in terms of tourists, the concert itself was almost entirely sold out, and I would guess that they were all local people. It’s also awesome that I get to go to every concert for free, as it’s great music performed by very high quality musicians. I’m really looking forward to the next concert though, as it’s the concert that I’ve been the most directly involved with.

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

Leave a Reply

