The Coast and Corfe Castle

Alliteration just makes a good title, what can I say.

But anyways, we had another social trip on Friday, to the Dorset Coast and Corfe Castle for a hike along the coast and a chance to explore the castle. This has probably been one of my favorite trips that the program has sponsored so far. The hike ended up being about 8.5 miles according to the fit bit of one of the other students, my phone put me at about 11.3 miles at the end of the day, and this time my feet didn’t hurt nearly as bad because I wore good shoes. Hiking along the coast was incredibly beautiful (see photo below), and we were doing it on a great day, it wasn’t too hot or cold, there was a bit of wind, and the sun was out. There were a bunch of parasailers out too, and we even persuaded one to purposely photobomb a group photo we were taking, which is one the ASE facebook and instagram if you want to see that photo. We kept running into him along the hike and he was very friendly and would always wave at us. I’ve put a couple photos from along the hike in the additional photos section, just to give you an idea of how beautiful it was. IMG_6983.jpg

One thing I had not anticipated was exactly how many stairs there would be, and oftentimes you would go down a lot of stairs, have about 10 feet of flat trail, and then have to go up just as many stairs again. It was a bit grueling and definitely the hardest part of the trail and my quads were quite sore the next day, but it was all very worth it. There were a lot of other people out, many with dogs, which I appreciated. There was a family that went by with three kids, two of whom were wearing shirts that said California on them, and when asked, they had never actually been to California. I’ve noticed this before too, there’s a store in the city center that sells a shirt with San Francisco written on it, and I gotta say that I don’t really understand exactly why there seems to be such a focus on California in terms of shirts people wear. Although I did consider buying the San Francisco shirt just because it was funny to me that I could have a shirt I got in England proclaiming the area I grew up in in the US.

At the end of the hike, we had lunch at a pub that had a museum attached to it, which I didn’t go into but I’m sure would have been interesting. After that we met up with the bus which took us to Corfe Castle (see photo below), a castle that is incredibly old and the place that King Edward the Martyr was killed by possibly his stepmother in 978. Given how old it is, it shouldn’t be surprising that it is not in as good a shape as it once was. I actually thought it was very beautiful though, there was ivy climbing all over it and for being as old as it is, there was a good amount of it left. It was also on the top of a hill, and so had a good view out over everything (see additional photos). We were given an hour to explore, which I did and then got some very delicious lemon cheesecake ice cream. Then home we went. It was a great day and I’m very glad that I got to go and that the program makes an effort to pay for us to be able to do cool things like this.IMG_7027.jpg

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

Leave a Reply

