A Personal Update

I spend a lot of time talking about things that I’ve done on this blog, but I thought it would also be nice to say a little bit about things going on me with that aren’t as noteworthy.

I’ve been a bit sick the past few days, I woke up a week ago with a very sore throat and feeling like complete garbage. I slept 12 hours the next night and felt a lot better, but I’ve maintained various sick symptoms over this past week, first by almost losing my voice over the weekend and now with a gnarly cough. But I feel not sick, I’m just coughing a lot, and hopefully it’ll go away soon. I’m also almost entirely done with all of the planning for my travels with my boyfriend once the program is over, which is a relief. I’m really looking forward to that and I think it’s going to be a good time.

We’re also approaching our second paper part of the semester, I have my first one due in two weeks and am already working on figuring out my paper topic and all of that. I also have to start writing my dissertation for my internship, which I’m actually kind of excited for because it’s on a topic that I am interested in, the importance of having the arts in communities and what they add. For both my screenwriting and drama class, our last large assignment is more of an ongoing thing. Our drama class has a final performance, so I’ve been memorizing lines and rehearsing scenes each week for that. Unsurprisingly, we have to write a screenplay for my screenwriting class, which I will be starting tomorrow.

It’s also amazing to me that we are rapidly approaching the end of the semester, it really has gone by quickly and has been a good time, but I’m also looking forward to being home.

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

Leave a Reply

