The End of Classes

Seeing as this is a study abroad program, I figured I should probably say some things about the academic side of my life, especially since I (basically) had my last class yesterday.

I say basically because I have a makeup class for Drama on Monday, but we are in rehearsal mode, so it isn’t totally a class. As I believe I’ve mentioned before, the first half of that class was about analyzing and reading plays, and the second about rehearsing scenes and monologues from them. We are all performing part of the first scene from Betrayal by Harold Pinter, I am performing the last about third of it. Then we all have two more three-person scenes (there are six of us in the class, so it works out well). We each are doing one scene from Look Back in Anger by John Osborne, I am playing Alison in mine. Then we all have a one-gender scene (as in everyone in the scene is, in my case, female), and mine is from Top Girls by Caryl Churchill, and I am playing Joyce. Then we all have monologues, I am again Alison from Look Back in Anger.

I’m really enjoying rehearsing the scenes, I haven’t done any acting since high school, just stage managing, so it’s interesting to come back to it. It is difficult though because it’s such a short period of time where we have to get a whole lot done, so while I think the scenes are going well, I’m sure that they could be much better if we didn’t have a 2 hour period to rehearse each of them and our director (the tutor) has to go between scenes to see them all. But I still do enjoy working on them and I think that our show is going to go pretty well.

My Media class has drifted a lot from what I expected when I got the syllabus, but in a good way. We’ve made it more about looking at aspects of media that we are interested in and discussing those in class, which has been really interesting. We also managed to get our tutor to show us about 10 minutes of a documentary that he and a friend made about him investigating the suspicious death of a Hollywood screenwriter, which has been pretty fun. Go look up The Writer with No Hands if you’re interested, I think it’s coming out on iTunes soon. We also have a study trip for that class a week from today, we are going to London to take a walking tour of all the filming locations of Harry Potter and a tour of the offices of The Telegraph, which is a newspaper.

In my Screenwriting class, we have finally reached the point where we have to have our whole screenplay written, which I do. I certainly have a lot of editing to do with it, but it’s all there. We haven’t actually done that much writing for the class before writing our screenplay, a lot of it was lecture-based classes on what makes a good screenplay and the elements of a screenplay, as well as watching movies and analyzing the script in them. We’ve also been doing peer reviews of each other’s screenplays, which has been pretty helpful. The tutor also has been having one-on-one meetings with each of us to go over his notes, which has also been mostly useful.

Overall, I’ve enjoyed the classes I’ve taken this semester and it’s pretty astonishing to me that we’re already almost done, things have truly blown by. We are going to be in Stratford for three days next week, which I’m looking forward to. And on a theater note, I’m seeing Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead tonight in London, which stars Daniel Radcliffe, so that should be a blast as well.

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

Leave a Reply

