To London for a Show

On Friday, myself and some other ASE students went into London to see Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead by Tom Stoppard, which had Daniel Radcliffe playing Rosencrantz. This is one of my favorite shows, and I performed in it in high school as Guildenstern, so I was really excited to see it.  It did not disappoint, but I will get to that in a minute.  We got food beforehand at a Mexican street food restaurant, which turned out to be really delicious. And it was Cinco de Mayo, so we accidentally kind of paid homage to that with our food choice. Our dinner ended right around when we wanted to be at the theater, which was right across the street. I had some really good bean and cheese quesadillas and fermented corn and cheese empanadas.

We went over to the theater after that and went to our seats. My seat was very far over to one side, but there was a rail in front of us that was padded that I spent a lot of time leaning on, which I think the theater realizes, and I appreciated that they compensated for that. The set was really great, the stage expanded backwards a ton and had a cloud and sky canvas that expanded through the whole ceiling and onto the back wall and faded into the ground on the stage, and it created a rounded back to the stage. They also differentiated between the “play” and the action by having all of the “play” with a curtain that had some illustrations on it that made it clear it was in the court of Denmark. I thought the set worked really well and I loved how they used it.

And of course, Daniel Radcliffe did a wonderful job. I thought he brought a great energy to the character and made the character’s arc and emotional change throughout the play very clear. Joshua McGuire played Guildenstern, and he did a phenomenal job as well, he really carried things forward, at least in the way that Guildenstern kind of does. The cast of players was also great, they played, I think, live music that fit into the show well and also sounded really good. I was really impressed with how everyone did and was so happy with how the show was. It’s basically over now, but I would recommend it if you have the chance. We stood in line for a little while to try and meet Daniel Radcliffe, but we had to leave to catch our bus back. Overall, it was a really good time and I’m very happy that I got to see it.

IMG_7116.jpg

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

Leave a Reply

