Dear ______: A Reflection

I’ve officially moved out of my house and ASE is officially over, so I thought I’d say a couple things in reflection. 

Dear ASE staff, thank you all so much for all of the hard work you’ve put into this unexpectedly eventful semester, it’s been so wonderful to see and get to know you all. 

Dear fellow ASE students, thank you for all adding so much to my experience here, I’m going to miss all of you a ton but hope to see everyone soon or in September.  

Dear Bath Phil staff, you have all been an absolute delight to work with and I don’t think I can ever forget a lot of the things I had the chance to do with you.

Dear Next Stage Youth Theatre staff and youthers, I’ve enjoyed working with all of you and thank you for how openly you welcomed us into your group. 

Dear Dave and the Manvers Street staff, you’re all incredibly kind and the work you do is amazing and so important, thank you for letting me be a part of it. 

Dear 31 Prior Park, you had your issues over the course of my stay, but thank you for making me feel like I had a home. 

Dear residents of 31 Prior Park, I loved living with every single one of you, thank you for being friendly and easy to live with. 

Dear Steve the cat, we’ve had our ups and downs (please don’t bring dead birds to our back door), but you definitely know what you want and try your hardest to get it, and I admire that. 

Dear classmates, thank you for all being an active part of each of the seminars I was in, I don’t think they could have been as good without you. 

Dear tutors, thank you for the interesting, surprising, engaging, and insightful classes and thank you for the work you put into them.

Dear blackcurrant and elderflower, I will miss you and the lovely juice you make when I’m back in the US. 

And lastly,

Dear Bath, thank you for the crazy, fun, weird, and wonderful experiences that you’ve given me, I couldn’t imagine a better place to spend my semester abroad.

Author: iprefershowers

I (she/her/hers) am originally from California, and a third year double majoring in Psychology and Arts Management, a major I created, at Oberlin College. A lot of my interests lie in the arts, at Oberlin I help run a student dance company, stage manage both departmental and student theatre productions, and teach dance classes. I am continuing this interest and involvement while on the Advanced Studies in England program by completing an internship with the Bath Philharmonia in addition to taking three classes in the study of the arts. I am also volunteering at a toddler group and a youth theatre.

1 thought on “Dear ______: A Reflection”

  1. So glad you had a wonderful time; I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog, and look forward to seeing where you head next!

    Safe travels, and see you again very soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

